My first Ford Kite Cup competition

fot. Ford Kite Cup

fot. Ford Kite Cup

The weekend is over and together with it, the first stop of the Polish Kite Tour – Ford Kite Cup. Pretty funny, but it’s actually one of the most consistent competitions in the world as they have been running it for 10 years already, year after year, with no cancelled stops so far. There are four stops in total and the first one is always held in ChaΕ‚upy, which is also where I consider my homespot to be πŸ™‚

fot. Ford Kite Cup

fot. Ford Kite Cup

The wind was pretty bad during the comp, as on the first day we had side-off wind, a direction which totally doesn’t work on this spot, and the wind was very inconsistent and gusty. The heats were run though and in my first one I went against two other girls, one of them our awesome world champion, Karolina. I ended up second and sadly this kicked me out of the possibility to fight for the podium, as all second places went straight into the loosers final. In that one I went against two girls again. I made a stupid mistake landing blind and lost my kite very early in the heat (the heat was only 5 minutes! Omg, so short) and before I managed to relaunch it in the gusts and go upwind in the zone enough to do another trick, the heat was over. I managed to land some more basic tricks before that though and this gave me a 2nd place in the loosers final, which overall put me in the 5th place out of 9 places in total. It was interesting to try riding heats like that, as I’ve only ever did it with just one other girl in the heat and never with wind like that… the heats were also always longer. I have a better idea now what I should focus on next time and I’m pretty eager to compete on the 2nd tour stop in a few weeks πŸ˜€ Congrats to all 9 girls who participated, you all did a great job!

fot. Ford Kite Cup

fot. Ford Kite Cup

There was not enough wind on the first day and on the second day there was no wind at all, so doubles for women did not happen. Men singles were not finished too and there was no final result in Men category. A shame, cause my Cabrinha teammate and current Polish champion Marek RowiΕ„ski for sure wanted to kick some ass after his spring training in Egypt… next time I guess πŸ˜‰

As I am writing this update, I am sitting in a train back home (there’s wifi and all that shit… wow, we ARE in EU after all). I’m going to spend five days working in Warsaw and then I am packing my bags again and heading off for another short adventure. All I can say is that I’m going to meet up with someone pretty cool and I will need a lot of sunscreen, bikinis and power to shred cause the wind over there is looking awesome so far!

Stay tuned for more fun and games with Zuza!

May wind be with you,
Zuza

One thought on “My first Ford Kite Cup competition

Leave a Reply

